• twitter
  • rss
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • tumblr

The most comprehensive source for everything DIVERGENT.

{Book News}: @VeronicaRoth Announces New Details About Four: A #Divergent Collection



Have you been wanting more info on Four: A Divergent Collection? It just might be your lucky day! Not only did Veronica Roth give us more details on what will be on the pages inside, she also gave us an amazing reveal of some additional Four perspective that will be included! Here’s what she had to say:

Now that Four: A Divergent Collection is FINISHED FINISHED FINISHED, I am here to give you the rundown of what’s actually included in the book, because it’s just a little over 60 days until it comes out!
First, there are the four stories you expect: The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son, and The Traitor. Here is the official summary:
Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child.
Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system.
Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again.
Then, there are a few things you might not expect. Three “deleted” scenes from THE TRAITOR—scenes that I wrote while drafting the stories but had to cut for length (or because they no longer worked for the timeline). The titles are memorable lines that all happen to end with the same word. They are also all “first moments”. You know, like…
“First jumper—Tris!” – The first time he ever lays eyes on her.
“Careful, Tris.” – And the first time Tris challenges him. (But certainly not the last!)
“You look good, Tris.” – And the first time he lets his guard down.
So. There you have it—everything that will be in the short story collection, released in hardcover on July 8th, 2014, in the US! I’m excited for you guys to read!
Other info:
*The stories will also be available as separate short e-books in July.
**I’m not sure when/if the book will be released in which countries. I’ll put that information on my “foreign editions” page as it becomes available.

Can you guys believe it? Not only are we getting the short stories, but now we’re getting some of our very favorite scenes from Four’s point of view. Are you as excited as we are? Which scene or short are you most looking forward to? Sound off below!

Tags: , , , , , , ,


  1. Do you know if the extra scenes will only be included in the hardcover book? Will they be included on the Kindle version? Do you know if there’s any format that includes all of Four’s stories & extra scenes plus Free Four?

  2. I dm’d HarperCollins on Twitter and they said that the 3 extra scenes will only be included in the hardcover release, not in the e-book editions 🙁

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *